Slam Dunk All-Tournament Team

LEWES, Del. -- There were many familiar names on the all-tournament team at the 12th annual Slam Dunk to the Beach Tournament.
The all-tournament squad was composed of only the players who competed in the eight team national bracket, which featured St. Benedicts (NJ), Archbishop Spalding (MD), Cardinal Dougherty (PA), St. Andrew's (RI), Our Savior New America (NY), Oakland Tech (CA), Laurinburg Institute (NC) and Georgetown Prep (MD).
St. Benedict's won the tournament and placed a pair of players on the all-tournament team: Artie Bowers and MVP Alex Galindo.
Archbishop Spalding, which placed second, was represented by Maryland signee Will Bowers and top 2004 forward Rudy Gay.
Third placed finisher Cardinal Dougherty placed sophomore forward Shane Clark and junior point guard Kyle Lowry on the all-tournament squad.
Demetris Nichols, who signed in the fall with Syracuse, was the lone representative for St. Andrew's H.S. The 6-7 forward was terrific on Monday in a close loss to Dougherty in the third place game.
Oumar Sylla got the nod over teammate Juan Diego Palacios for the Our Savior New America squad, which placed fifth at the Slam Dunk.
Leon Powe showed that he is still one of the top players in the 2003 class despite a serious knee injury that he suffered last spring. The 6-6 California bound Powe rebounded with reckless abandon all weekend long, but it wasn't enough to prevent Oakland Tech from finishing sixth at the Slam Dunk.
The only two squads who didn't place a single player on the nine-member all tournament squad were seventh place finisher Laurinbiurg and eighth place finisher Georgetown Prep.