football Edit

Peach Jam recap

Behind the leadership of Duke commitment Michael Gbinije and strong play from his supporting cast Team Takeover took home the championship of the inaugural Nike Elite Youth Basketball League.
Gbinije scored 19 points and grabbed five rebounds in Team Takeover's 70-62 win over the St. Louis Eagles. Leading Team Takeover in both points and rebounds, however, was 2012 guard prospect James Robinson, who registered 24 points and eight rebounds. A.J. English added 10 points for Team Takeover.
Leading the way for the St. Louis Eagles was Florida commitment Bradley Beal with his game high 26 points. Butler commitment Roosevelt Jones contributed 13 points and was the St. Louis Eagles leading rebounder with eight rebounds.
Team Takeover advanced to the finals with a 72-57 semifinal win over the Spiece Indy Heat. Julian Debose lead the way for Team Takeover with a game high 18 points and a game high 14 rebounds.
For the Spiece Indy Heat Marquis Teague struggled from the field, scoring nine points but did have a game high five assists. Nic Moore and 2012 Purdue commitment Rapheal Davis led the Spiece Indy Heat in scoring with 12 points and 11 points each.
The St. Louis Eagles needed a 73-70 win over Team Final to reach the finals. Bradley Beal was again the main man for the Eagles, scoring 28 points. His sidekick Roosevelt Jones came close to a double-double with 17 points and nine rebounds.
Kentucky commitment Mike Gilchrist had a big game for Team Final, scoring 26 points and grabbing 12 rebounds. West Virginia commitment Aaron Brown was the team's other double digit scorer with 17 points.
Michael Carter-Williams 27.3 ppg
Austin Rivers 25.2 ppg
Omar Calhoun 23.2 ppg
Joe Coleman 21.6 ppg
Mike Gilchrist 21.0 ppg
Bradley Beal 20.8 ppg
Sidiki Johnson 19.3 ppg
Malcolm Brogdon 18.8 ppg
Ricardo Gathers 18.8 ppg
Freddy Tagaloa 18.3 ppg
Trey Burke 18.2 ppg
Levi Randolph 18.0 ppg
Sidiki Johnson 11.3 rpg
Amir Williams 10.8 rpg
Dorian Finney-Smith 9.8 rpg
Kyle Anderson 9.6 rpg
Mike Gilchrist 9.4 rpg
Marquis Teague 5.6 apg
Kyle Anderson 5.2 apg
Shaquille Boga 4.8 apg
Tyrone Johnson 4.4 apg
Two talented squads the Georgia Stars and BABC squared off in the 16-U finals. The Stars came out on top with a 59-57 win over a BABC team that is primarily comprised of 2013 prospects.
Marcus Hunt was the top scorer and rebounder for the Georgia Stars with 19 points and nine rebounds. Justin Seymour was also in double figures fwith 17 points.
George Niang led the way for BABC with 25 points and eight rebounds. Also scoring double figures was Rene Castro with 12 points. Castro also had a game high seven assists.
Down the road in Aiken, S.C. the South Carolina Ravens took home the 17-U championship. The young and talented Houston Defenders had a travel conflict and were unable to play the Ravens in the championship. The strong play of Demarcus Harrison throughout the tournament earned him MVP honors.
In the 16-U division the Southern Kings defeated the New Jersey Playaz. Sharp shooter Evan Nolte was named tournament MVP.